Winners announced for inaugural Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards

Winners announced for inaugural

Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards

“A great night for music”

SCHENECTADY, N.Y.—APRIL 14, 2019— Winners in 38 categories were announced tonight at the inaugural Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards at Proctors.

“This is a great night for music,” said Proctors Collaborative CEO Philip Morris, “and a great night for us. I’m so proud to see the Capital Region celebrating itself and the great artists, technicians, promoters and chroniclers that make up our grand music scene.”

Hosted by comedian/musician Erin Harkes, and featuring performances by Alex Torres and his Latin Orchestra, Bear Grass, Johnny 2 Phones, New York Players, Wyld Blu and Rich Ortiz, the event also featured video tributes to Greg Haymes and Caroline MotherJudge Isachsen, and Eddies Hall of Fame inductees Kevin McKrell and Ruth Pelham. Presenters at the fully-produced show—sponsored by The Collaborative magazine and Capital Records Live!—represented a wide range of Capital Region music industry luminaries.

Eddies co-founders Jim Murphy and Sal Prizio presented, respectively, awards for Album of the Year and Record of the Year.

Murphy, Proctors Collaborative marketing and corporate development director, said, “The goal of The Eddies is to truly a shine a light on regional talent and I feel like we did that tonight. We look forward to the collaborations, connections and amazing musical happenings that we hope will be encouraged by the Eddies.”

Prizio, program coordinator at Proctors Collaborative, agreed. “Musicians rarely get to see each other because they are off with their own gigs and projects. The camaraderie and sense of community tonight, before and during the event, was electric. We believe the Eddies will have a long-term positive effect.”


2019 Capital Region Thomas Edison Music Awards winners

Solo Artist of the Year

Girl Blue

Solo or Duo Performer of the Year (Covers Category)

Rich Ortiz

Alt/Indie Artist of the Year

The Sea The Sea

Hip Hop/Rap Artist of the Year (tie)

Johnny 2 Phones


Party Cover Band of the Year

Garland Nelson and Soul Session

Jazz Artist of the Year

Brian Patneaude Quartet

DJ of the Year

DJ Trumastr

Country/Bluegrass Artist of the Year

The Gibson Brothers

Americana Artist of the Year

The North & South Dakotas

Rock/Pop Artist of the Year
Wild Adriatic

Punk/Metal/Hard Rock Artist of the Year

Candy Ambulance

Jam Band of the Year

Let’s Be Leonard

Blues Artist of the Year

Alana Wyld/Wyld Blu

R&B/Soul Artist of the Year

Garland Nelson

Electronica Artist of the Year

Sara Ayers

International/World Music Artist of the Year

Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year

Albany Symphony Orchestra

Folk/Traditional Artist of the Year

The McKrells

Music Video of the Year

Girl Blue—Dreams

Album of the Year (tie)

Elrod + MotherJudge—Cold Warrior

Wild Adriatic—Feel

Record of the Year

Girl Blue—Lolita

Outward Bound Artist of the Year


Promoter or Presenter of the Year

Mona Golub (Music Haven Concert Series)

Radio DJ of the Year

Chris Wienk WEXT

Concert Series of the Year

Music Haven Concert Series

Live Production Crew of the Year

High Peaks Sound

Arts Publication of the Year

Music Journalist of the Year

Michael Hochanadel

Best Venue Small (up to 350 people)

Caffé Lena

Best Venue Medium (350-999 people)

The Egg

Best Venue Large (1,000 people and up)

Troy Savings Bank Music Hall

Best Live Festival Large Format

Old Songs Festival of Traditional Music & Dance

Best Live Festival Small Format

GottaGetGon Folk Festival

Photographer of the year (tie)

Andre Pilarczyk

Kiki Vassilakis

People’s Choice Awards in three categories:

Local Music Artist of the Year

PJ Duo

Local Music Venue of the Year

Caffè Lena

Local Music Concert of the Year

Sawyer Fredericks

Caffè Lena

May 25-27, 2018

Capital Region Music Hall of Fame Winners:

Artist Lifetime Achievement

Kevin McKrell

Arts Educator or Contributions to the Area Music Scene

Ruth Pelham